Strategies by kroeningj

SLANT: As soon as I read this I knew I had been exposed to it before. It took me awhile, but I remembered SLANT from my KU days. In the mid to late 90’s, I taught at an intermediate school. The resource teacher there was very accessible. She came into one of my 7th grade classes to pilot a project on sentence writing. I was impressed! She explained her approach was of one several produced by Kansas University. She talked me into taking one of the classes offered by our AEA9. I was hooked; I took every KU class/seminar offered in our area by AEA9:Slant

  • Fundamentals in Sentence Writing
  • LINCS: Vocabulary Strategy
  • SLANT
  • Routines
    • Recall Enhancement
    • Order
    • Survey
    • Vocabulary LINCing

Then I moved to high school. There was so much more to cover in the curriculum and the students should have the basics down, right? Yes and no. I spent a total of 15 years in the junior high/middle school trenches. I know the curriculum and I know the teachers work very hard to prepare students for high school. However, they get to high school and act like they don’t know what you are talking about!

So back to The Strategies. I am not sure high school students will buy into SLANT, but it is worth a try. If anyone in our book cohort would like to view the entire set of directions, please let me know. I also reviewed my manual for Fundamentals  in Sentence Writing.  I would like to use some of these strategies with the 9th grade students I work with in 9th Grade Success Room. They will soon be writing a research paper and I believe many of them could benefit from this. However, how do I get them to buy into it? This would be additional instruction and practice on their parts. Will students work with me to improve their writing if they are not receiving a grade for the practice work? We have talked about this before. You have to master the basics before you can step up to the next level. Is it more important to me than them? In the end, if a student puts in the extra practice, the reward should be a better grade. Too often the grade doesn’t matter; they just want the assigment completed. How do we change this mentality?

5 thoughts on “Strategies by kroeningj

  1. alissahansen

    I am going to try this out! I would love to see your books about incorporating this into the classroom. I think high school students will not buy into this outright; however, I am going to try and work it into the impromptu speeches that I am going to have them do working up to their persuasive speeches.

    Like

    Reply
  2. stabera2014

    I like SLANT. I watched one of the recent videos of this on Lemov’s blog site, and it reminded me of what I encourage in Honors. Students there have had teachers who took the Shared Inquiry PD, and part of that is addressing your peers by name and turning and looking when others speak in class. It really does change the classroom environment!

    Like

    Reply
  3. stevelyle2

    I find it interesting that you picked up some of these techniques 15 years ago, Jane. The mindset is that any pedagogy worth its salt must be new. Obviously these techniques aren’t new, but the packaging of them into one book is.
    I also wonder why students are more motivated to do their best if the practice work is worth 10 points. Do they really think 10 points are more important than mastery and knowledge?
    I like your bulletin board. Has it helped make students feel more positive?

    Like

    Reply
  4. kroeningj Post author

    I thought the same thing, Steve. Everything old is new again! Unfortunately, points lead to grades; I don’t think it occurs to many students that the goal is knowledge and not just grades.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

